A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life.

Maty says "Oh hi nice to see you!"

Maty says “Oh hi nice to see you!”

Maty has been absent from the blog a while, too. But that’s because he lives in Ashland and my camera does not have that good a zoom. I am here in Shakespeareville for Thanksgiving.

So I will admit that I’ve been eating everything my father-in-law puts on the table. I have enjoyed it all immensely. But I am seeing the effects on by body, which means two things. Firstly, that my dietary changes were working; Secondly, that when I return home I’ll be back on the quinoa and rice tortillas. Since I have some space from classes this week, I’ll spend some time talking about the foods I aught to be eating.

wpid-20131118_194931.jpg

This array represents the inspirational people I get to hang out with in class.

I basically covered the foods and ingredients that I’m avoiding. It’s much more fun to talk about what I’ve gotten to embrace.

The spiritual advice that my Dad has passed on to me is as simple as it is true. God was in a good mood when he made garlic. And onion. And beans. There’s something to that. Those are all beneficial to your immune system, and can block estrogen receptors so that estrogen-like things in food do not throw off your natural hormone levels. Eat more beans, carrots, broccoli, and kale? No need to twist my arm.

wpid-2013-09-29-10.32.06.png

Flax and pumpkin seeds, plus my pretty measuring spoons.

I have added some seeds to my diet. First was flax, which has gained a lot of popularity in recent years on account of high Omega-3 Fatty Acids, anti-oxidants, and fiber. Did I talk about fiber? I’m consciously seeking out fiber for my diet so that my bowels move with ease. The muscles that take care of #2 are dangerously close to the muscles that ache and cramp from endo. One caution: they do contain plant estrogen, which your body can interpret as your own, so I make sure not to eat them daily or in excess.

Surprise about flax seeds: when you finely grind them and mix with water, you’ve got a surprisingly effective substitute for eggs! I mean, in baking dishes, not as breakfast. There are conflicting reports about including eggs in an anti-inflammatory diet; most of what I have read is against them, and it hasn’t been a problem for me to eliminate them, so that’s where I fall on the question.

Next up was pumpkin seeds, which I tried because they’re crazy nutritious, but I didn’t expect to enjoy. People go gaga about roasted pumpkin seeds at Halloween, and I’ve never cared for them. I love smelling them in the oven, but can’t be bothered to eat them.  Step one to loving pumpkin seeds: buy them already shelled.

They are full of protein and reduce inflammation. They have a lot of minerals, which is another thing I didn’t expect. They even have tryptophan, that magical Thanksgiving chemical that promotes rest and lowers depression. So for those reasons and more, I bought a bag and came up with the perfect plan. If this didn’t make pumpkin seeds palatable, then it would never be.

I eat this now as a when I’m craving salty chips, I put it on salads, add it to dips, whatever. It’s fast and easy and is worth the effort to do it right. No substitutions, commit to the fancy stuff.

Try about a quarter cup of shelled pumpkin seeds, put into a saucepan or small skillet, on medium-high heat.
Add 1-2 teaspoons of avocado oil. Stir the seeds often. Watch for them to turn toasty colors, listen for them to get steamed up and start to pop.
Season with truffle salt. Try not to burn yourself when you can’t keep from waiting long enough for them to cool.

Third seed: CH-CH-CH-CHIA! I couldn’t help myself. And be serious, if you were writing this blog you’d say it too.

Chia seeds have similar benefits to flax: high in fiber, antioxidants, and Omega-3s; I hear they can also be used as an egg replacement. They’re full of good minerals (which I will elaborate on in Part 3 of this diet-blog business). For more info than you expected or will ever need, see here.

In the picture, the chia seeds on the left are hidden by the other delicious things in the mix I bought; it has slivered almonds, minced dates, hemp seeds, cocoa powder… See here for Chia Goodness. With this, I’ve been having pleasant breakfasts:

A couple teaspoons of the chia mix, a teaspoon of strawberry jam,
a dose of probiotic (I’ll elaborate later),
Add a splash of water or coconut milk, stir it, and go pour yourself a coffee. In a minute the chia seeds will start to expand.
Top with yogurt (Greek nonfat is best).

And maybe some granola or rice cereal on top for crunch. You know, like a parfait–but with lots of protein, fiber, minerals, and little fat.

Here’s a word loaded with sensory memories: cheese. A dear friend of mine for years–we do visit every few weeks or so now when I find brie in front of me. Instead, I’ve been using Daiya “cheese,” and I’ve been really happy with it (except the provolone–that one’s sub-par).

Pictured to the right of the Chia Goodness are dry sprouted lentils. Lentils have a lot of the same anti-inflammatory benefits of beans– particularly the fiber–but I don’t feel compelled to eat them often. Either they are too hard/undercooked or fragile/overcooked. Sprouted lentils have been gaining popularity for their particular properties. If you wish to get technical in comparison, I direct you here. I do not know how much drying the lentils affects the nutrition versus fresh. But these great. You can soften them just by placing in water or soup in the last minutes. I think I’ll try seasoning and toasting them one of these days.

wpid-20131110_112043.jpgAnother something that is going on: I have art up at Latte Play in Salem. Best part is that I have FINALLY gotten to hang my Gigantic Koi Painting. So go marvel at that and have a latte. See Masterful Matilda and Animal, shown here. But there is something shown here that is no more.

It finally happened. I grew hair long enough to donate, as long as I could stand for it to be. But it had started strangling me in my sleep. It broke the vacuum. It had to go.

wpid-20131125_121637.jpg

So thanks for the line, Coco Chanel. My life has definitely changed.

2 Comments

  1. Diana Duthie said,

    December 2, 2013 at 10:55 am

    Love your writing style and tasty tidbits of information almost as much as I love you Katie!

  2. June 12, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    […] the spirit of the art project/phenomenon, Before I Die (which I did in the fall with my class). Here’s another good […]


Leave a comment