My NanoArtMo has been a successful experiment. Here are some of the results.

nano blending study

17/30 a blending study

This started as a little something I lifted off the Pinterest boards– though it originally came from this lovely blog. I had the same intention: to practice blending watercolor paint. And I like what both of us ended up with. I like to think of this as a sunrise viewed through venetian blinds.

water droplets study

18/30 water droplets study

This little thing was a similar lets-just-try-it exercise. The original is much smoother, my scanner is getting old and lazy and doesn’t like to recognize fainter colors (the blue-greys in this water droplets exercise, and the pinks of the venetian sunrise).

Although I do not have the photos to share with you, I submit the following dish as art this month too. Because what you bring out of the kitchen can be just as creative and beautiful as what you put down on paper or paint on a canvas. And though Tony did nearly all the cooking for Thanksgiving, I did put in my efforts too.

So, from the kitchen I submit: 19/30 Buttercup Squash Soup (or as I like to think of it, The Best Soup Mimi Ever Had)

ButterCUP. Not butterNUT.

ButterCUP. Not butterNUT.

I cut one squash into 6 or 8 wedges, removed the seeds, and put them in a casserole dish. I brushed them with maple syrup, laid some rosemary sprigs on top, covered it all with foil and roasted them at 300 for 30 minutes. This will soften the squash with steam, the rosemary oil leeches out, and the maple syrup caramelizes.

Then I removed the rosemary twigs (they completely dry out in that first roast), sprinkled the wedges with cumin and ground ginger. Next I put some more fresh rosemary twigs on it and drizzled everything with coconut milk. (enough so that the surfaces of squash are coated, but not so much you leave coconut milk sloshing around the pan. Kick the oven up to 350, put it in the oven uncovered for 20-30 minutes, or whenever they are cooked thoroughly.

glass lotus votive holder, now with red petals!

20/30 glass lotus votive holder, now with red petals!

Since the first roast mostly cooked the squash through, this second roast is where the spices get sealed in under browning coconut milk and it’s culinary gold. Again, the rosemary will lend its flavor to the squash just by being friends in the oven. Once it’s all cooked through, throw away the rosemary and relax a minute.

20/30 another mountain scene

21/30 another mountain scene–again, the original has more pink hues

When it’s cool enough to handle, remove the squash from the rind (should be cooked enough you can do this easily with a spoon) and blend the buh-jeezus out of it.
Meanwhile, heat up some broth or stock (about 3/4 of a cup) on the stove and add the super-uber-duper-blended squash mixture. Simmer this delicious mess and tailor it to your tastes by adding more spice, coconut milk, or maple syrup. You can even throw another stick of rosemary in for this last heating. I love rosemary and the flavor goes so elegantly with the cumin and coconut, but adding it directly would ruin the super creamy velvety texture of the soup. Lucky for me (and the rest of us), rosemary is friendly and likes to share its flavor with its neighbors.

Not bad, huh? I actually did pretty well with my NanoArtMo, or: New Art NO matter What Reasons I Make Otherwise.  In fact, I succeeded! 30 new pieces of art in 30 days. I’m saving the remaining 9 for the next blog post, make sure you come back. 😉

2 Comments

  1. Mimi Pippel said,

    December 2, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    It’s true! It was the best soup ever had and I’ve had a lot of good soup!

  2. Ellise said,

    December 3, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    Love the blending idea! I might try this for my next piece!


Leave a Reply

