New Art NO matter What Reasons I Make Otherwise

How’s that for cat-titude? Or for obsessive licking disorder, either way.

If you know any writers at all, you should be warned that they may be going a little nutty this month. November is National Novel Writing Month– NaNoWriMo— and if you know the already-nutty writers that I do, you’re already seeing the psychological effects that accompany the ambitious process. I have participated in the collective challenge a couple times, and even won my second year!

The color scheme of my cat. 1/30

I’m not going to write this year, but I’ve decided to dedicate this month to a different medium. My very own Nanowrimo. So here’s my first installment. If my friends can write a couple thousand words a day, I can surely be creative every day in solidarity.

New Art NO matter What Reasons I Make Otherwise

No need for a name 2/30

There’s a shop near my neighborhood called John’s Marketplace. From the outside it looks humble and not noteworthy, but inside it is an overwhelming trove of beer, cider, and wine. Definitely gives the kid-in-a-candy-store feeling to me and my friends. Setting aside the stunning stock they keep, I would go there anyway because almost every time I go I end up laughing out loud. This week’s visit yielded this conversation at the check-out.

Him: You have beautiful handwriting.
Me: Thank you so much!
Him: Are you an educator?
I looked at my clean, evenly spaced letters and blushed a little. He caught me.
Me: …I do have teacher handwriting, don’t I?

Moonbeams, I guess. 3/30

My second John’s Marketplace Moment is short. The sentences are meaningful, but it was really the delivery. Normally I would be pissed if a cashier did my transaction while on the telephone with non-work business. But he was speaking with the utmost sincerity and fatherly urgency. Delivered in a nice methodical Liam Neeson pace:
Listen to me, bud. We’ve talked about this before. You cannot practice karate in the house. Your mother is very upset. No. Karate. In the house.

Cats know nothing of personal boundaries.

Third example of how fun it is to check out at John’s: Before he even comes in, I see this kid through the window. Maybe 14 years old, minding his own business, just coming in to grab a soda.
But the whole time, he’s wearing an ensemble of fake glasses, big black moustache, goatee, eyebrows, and a monacle to top it all off. Nowhere near Halloween, or any day of particular importance. He got in line behind me and it made my day. Before I left, I turned to him and said:
I would really like to give you a high five, but it seems somehow inappropriate. Sir, may I shake your hand?
He graciously accepted, even gave me a bow. I left with my beer candy and a smile, as per usual.

3 Comments

  1. cavepainter said,

    November 9, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    This cat has very nice colors. 🙂

  2. November 9, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    Love the cat colour study

  3. Mimi Pippel said,

    November 10, 2012 at 9:51 am

    Love it all, but especially the Moonbeams!


Leave a Reply

