Three cheers for actually finishing something I started. New art for your enjoyment.

It started as one manilla envelope and a couple sketches.  I collected miscellaneous images, grabbed promotional materials for local shows and businesses, clippings just for color and texture, and I packed that envelope to its breaking point. Then I got a few key glossy magazines, put them with my PDX file. It was when I put a thick book on top of it all that I stood back and remembered, my name is not Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout. If I don’t get this on a canvas soon then I’m not an artist, I’m a hoarder.

I attacked it all with scissors. I cut it up, shuffled it, and glued it back down. Came out with something like this:

I say something like this because in this photo it’s technically unfinished. This is after all the paper work, but before I made it a mixed media piece. It has since been embellished with vintage buttons, a frame, and encased in acrylic resin.

In mostly-unrelated news, my camera is in the repair shop. But when it gets back, the first thing I’ll use it for is a good photo of The Portland Collage and you can see it properly in detail so I can offer it to you next to its predecessor, The Paris Collage.

And there will be pictures of all the other things I’ve sewn/cooked/painted/eaten in the time since my last post. But I can share this portrait with you without the use of my camera. It’s another let’s-take-turns-making-this-silly. All the July 4th bbq family pictures are floating around, let’s just call this another modern family portrait.

I hope you and your funny-looking loved ones are well. Thanks for checking in.

2 Comments

  1. July 10, 2012 at 4:19 am

    You are so creative; y9ur art is to fun!

  2. Diane said,

    August 27, 2012 at 1:49 pm


Leave a Reply

