How can my cat afford Dish Network? She hasn’t payed me rent in 6 YEARS!

Greetings again, with another Frame My Cat picture.

Today’s installment of Kids Say the Darndest Things takes place on a playground. After two creative minds clashed in their visions of sidewalk-chalk-masterpieces, I sat with one of the artists. I understand her, as I have noticed she shares several qualities with Matilda. I regularly have conversations with both in which our only words are meow-meow. They both covet small shiny objects and love chasing bugs. They are both fatally cute. Completely adorable even (or especially) when they are angry. Stomping her feet wasn’t helping. She kept saying UGH and informing anyone nearby that she was STILL ANGRY.

I just love to say tonatordo…

…still so angry she could scream. I told her that since we were outside, it was ok with me if she walked away from other people and screamed until she felt better. She thought about it but said it might not be enough. “I’m so angry I want to scream a bad word.”

I’m a cool teacher, and I often turn to the calming power of profanity (reason #1 no kids are allowed in my car). So I told her that since we were outside, it was ok with me if she walked waaaay away from other people and screamed a bad word. If it would make her feel better. This was still displeasing to her.

She sat down, crossed her arms with a huff. Then she took a big long inhale, paused a moment to let it all boil up (just long enough for me to wonder how I was going to explain to the other kids why this one was screaming profanity) and finally let it rip.

“GUTS!!!”

You ever have someone laugh at you when you are that wound up? It is literally enRAGEing. Keep a straight face looking at that scowl under a flowery headband, hollering gutsgutsgutsgutsguts! I dare you. And if you can do that, then I hire you to go get the other angry girl who is hanging on the monkey bars in the fashion of… well,  a sit-in protest. A hang-in, you might say. Careful, she kicks.

After I clean up their water color paintings, I come home and bust out mine. I’ve recently devoted time to this medium that I abandoned about the same time I stopped wearing jelly shoes. I’m pleased with my results so far, so here is a sample. My scanner is back in working order so I can finally digitize my new art. Thanks for sharing in my Anger Management lesson!

4 Comments

  1. Pat Alvarado said,

    April 28, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    This image of the dragonflies is truly beautiful. So peaceful. Do you sell your art? If so, how much would you charge for this one? Just curious.

    • Katie Pippel said,

      April 28, 2014 at 3:43 pm

      Thank you, Pat! I’d love to make you a print, say $15? I could part with the original for $40.

      • Pat Alvarado said,

        May 13, 2014 at 1:57 pm

        Hi Katie,
        The print arrived just perfectly, and it’s even prettier than on the screen! I’m off to get it framed. And thanks so much for the darling Paris print, it’s so cheerful.
        Hope you had a great Mother’s Day!
        Pat

      • Katie Pippel said,

        June 9, 2014 at 8:44 am

        Thanks, Pat! It made my day to hear from you. I’m so glad you like the prints!


Leave a Reply

