Now my hands smell like garlic and look like Kandinsky

Great news! I’ve been painting. Here’s a little peek at one in a quickly growing series, a study on a geographic icon. This is one canvas on which I had a good time. If you think finger-painting is fun, 1: you are correct. 2: using textured painting medium is 150% more fun.

I also poked a few holes in the cloves for extra oil-infusion

After I put 6 different canvases in varying stages of completion around the living room to dry, I busied myself in the kitchen. Here’s my shout-out to Good Food Not Much Time, something to do when you have a bit more time to play with. Spend a little time on this, and you’re food will be Extra Good for Some Time. Roasted garlic butter.

I took 6 bulbs of garlic (if it’s worth doing, it’s worth over-doing) and cut the tops off the cloves, like so. I lined cupcake tins with foil (now that I think of it, you could use cupcake papers too), and poured olive oil over them. I covered the whole delicious mess with more foil and popped them in the oven. 375 degrees for 20 minutes.

Then pour some more oil on them, replace the foil covering, return to oven for another 20 minutes. Uncover and bake for another 10-20 minutes, or until they look like this:

Allow them to totally cool (and totally fill your house with amazing smells) then remove the cloves from the bulb. Most of them will slide out if you squeeze gently. The others you might have to go after with a pokey of some sort.

My trifecta of sous chefs: Hubert the food pro, Patsy the Kitchenaid mixer, and Jesus the Provider of Espresso

Then put all those wonderful roasted garlic cloves in a food processor with 2 sticks of butter. Add a little salt and pepper. Spread on everything.

I’ll wrap up today with another art sneak peek. I hope your January is coming along smoothly and nicely. Ta ta for now.

Leave a Reply

