My latest easy-but-fancy breakfast, baked eggs in ham cups


Just a little color to brighten up the grey around here. We’re under a bed of fog. Therefore, to the kitchen!

You know that feeling when you’re shopping and you can’t remember if you’re almost out of butter or if you just bought some? You err on the side of delicious and buy more butter and it stacks up in your freezer? We did that with eggs.. twice… which left us with 2 regular cartons of eggs and one large carton. We’ve been having a lot of breakfasts lately.

I had seen recipes for baked eggs here and there in my cooking career, but I have never tried them. I looked up a few recipes. They ranged from put-eggs-in-cups with Velveeta to classy cuisine herbed baked eggs with brioche to bacon wrapped.

Two of my favorite words. So that’s the winner. Half-cook strips of bacon, line the edge of cupcake tins, add eggs.

Then I found out we were actually out of bacon. (gasp!) So I triangulated myself a recipe somewhere in between those extremes of Velveeta, creme fraiche, and bacon.

I took my extra large cupcake tin and lined them with slices of ham. I used little glasses to help press the ham into a proper cup shape. Ham cups. How silly!

As you can see, I added two eggs to each ham-cup and threw cheese on them all. BAM! Quickest use of a dozen eggs EVER.

I placed appropriately sized glasses in the cups to help shape them a little cleaner.

I used queso fresco and Oaxacan cheese, because that’s what I had in the fridge (enchiladas last week). Substitute your favorite cheese– and put some in the cups before the eggs for extra hidden cheese.

I baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes. Take them out when the whites start to set. The yolks will continue to warm and cook after they’re out of the oven.

Complete it all with salt, pepper, and toast. For best results, dine with mimosas.

Another culinary success. Happy eating!

2 Comments

  1. December 6, 2011 at 2:53 pm

    looks tasty

  2. December 18, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Those look uhhh-mazing! I just might have to try them!


Leave a Reply

