I can teach YOU to be a gypsy lady, too!

This little heron was the first animal we came across at the zoo, and I fell in love with it. So soft and light and graceful for being an adolescent. At home, we have some birds too. Two jackass crows, some miscellaneous tiny birds, one woodpecker I suspect has been on our roof… and two blue jays who appear to be Matilda’s nemesis-es.

If that bow were a bird, oh man, LOOK OUT. She’ll kitty-growl and make other grumpy noises and pounce on it– though most likely too late. That’s why she’s only allowed to hunt her Duckrabbit and party supplies like bows and ribbons and wrapping paper. Boxes too, don’t forget the boxes.

Saturday’s weather was beautiful, exactly how you want for a summer parade. I put together a brand new full costume for the first time, and whirled through Multnomah Village’s “Biggest Little Parade” with my beautiful voi from Fairycove Silks. “Voi” are a brilliant hybrid of poi and silk veils. They are perfectly stunning in the sunshine and they even make a flapping sound reminiscent of flames. My favorite moment of the day was when a sweet little 5 year old girl sang out in my direction, HELLO GYSPY LAAAADYYYY!
I didn’t take any pictures since my hands were full, but I did track down this shot taken by Jacob Grove, you can see his Flickr stream here. It appears he is a kindred spirit, he loves the bacon as much as we do.

I’m also thrilled to say I found my cheeky mug on the blog of a Villager, too. Samantha, I hope we can meet up for coffee sometime, and for two reasons:

1: You put me on your blog as the shining example of the Village Parade, with the single best tagline ever:
I was a loser and didn’t bring my real camera with me. Look at this picture. Look at how motherfucking cool this picture is! This is what you missed if you skipped Multnomah Days this year!

2. You put me next to pictures of the one and only Maru and I will gladly LIVE in the limelight of that cat. And in a raincoat? Stop, Samantha! I’m a married woman!

We’ll be having people over this weekend so I’m sure I’ll have some food to brag about. I might even have a dance video for you soon. 🙂 For now though, it’s time to top of my coffee mug and take care of some business. I can’t thank you guys enough for following my blog, it means a lot to me. Ta ta for now, enjoy your afternoon!

1 Comment

  1. August 25, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    I saw your tweet and message- thanks for the kind words about Samantha and I. The photos on my Flickr page are all the Multnomah Days photos that I have for this year.


Leave a Reply

