Springtime in Portland, when everybody shares the love

Happy Saturday!

Quite a Portland picture, isn’t it? Stumptown mocha, baked goodies, and bikes in the rain. Oregon was bringing its most Oregonian weather for my dear friend Alyssa who was visiting this week. We did all the most important things… Powell’s, Stumptown, my house, McMenamin’s. She was kind enough to leave us some California sunshine on Friday though, and I can’t express how happy people are around here to finally get a full day of sun.

Our yard is starting to blossom! The camellia bush has fairly exploded in pink. The bleeding hearts are making their entrance– springing forth from an empty-looking flower bed. Another clue that springtime is approaching is the slow but steady exploration of our kitchen by ants. I found two  in the sugar bowl this morning; one doing a great impression of Scrooge McDuck, and one who had evidently died of happiness.

Last night I had the great pleasure of performing fire poi at a triple-birthday party, and it was a blast. The hostess didn’t tell her guests what she had planned, I got to be a surprise! I guess while I was slipping in-doors and out to set things up, one of the Birthday Guys mentioned to her, “Lynelle, your friends are kind of antisocial.”  I had on really heavy eye makeup, so I looked a little out of place too. This was all forgiven after the fire. They all welcomed us in for drinks and cake (ohhhhh the cake… it was so good I kept eating it in my dreams).  They were all a kick-in-the-pants, and I hope to see them again. I’ll have to see if I can get my hands on any of their photos or leftover cake.

She got a new tent--or, castle if you ask her.

As part of my not-totally-subtle efforts to get my girlfriends interested in the Trailblazers, I’d like to share with you a video. Patrick Mills is a notable player. He’s crazyfast, and when he’s not on the court running circles around enormous men, he’s cheering from the bench with all the energy and sincerity of a mascot.* When he’s not in the stadium, he’s also making efforts to raise aid for flood victims in Australia.

“Recently, devastating floods took place in my homeland of Australia, and I want to do all I can to ASSIST in the recovery.** I’ve created some limited-edition t-shirts you can buy here. I’m also going to be giving away some prizes for people who register their shirts on this website. So buy a T, and share the Love!”

Thanks for reading and sharing!

*For my fellow fans of It’s Always Sunny, think of Patty Mills as the Blazers WILDCARD!

** Get it? ASSIST! BASKETBALL! HA!

1 Comment

  1. Pirategrrrl said,

    April 9, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    It was SOOOOO good seeing you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

