Nicolas Batum: Redeeming the French 4 points at a time

A strange assortment? Maybe… but these things are all notable. I took a can of ready-bake croissant rolls the other night and gourmet-ed it up a notch by filling them with the extra garlic Josh had sliced for our soup and then in an aftershock of brilliance, I rolled them around a plate of Parmesan cheese. The beer on the right, Brother Thelonious Belgian style abbey ale, was delicious.

The Sriracha Chili Sauce is a brand we have not had before. The guys are addicted to sriracha the way I am addicted to air (if you know a hot sauce fan, you get it) so you can just imagine their shock at finding Fred Meyer AND WinCo out of sriracha. I went to a third store, and after studying the entire aisle, there was only one product out of stock, and the tag under the empty hold confirmed it. Could it be a shortage of sriracha? Watch out, dad!

Lucky for them (and for me), New Seasons carries two brands. They say this one isn’t as good, but I shudder to think what would have happened had I come back empty handed. The wine is fine. It’s cheap and comes in a big bottle, and it was on the table too so it snuck in the picture.

It’s been months since we had that Maty dog around every day, so not only do I miss “puppy time,” our house simply lacks a creature of boundless energy and optimism. That’s just not Matilda’s “thing.”

This is more Matilda's "thing"

Today I saw the only animal who rivals Maty’s exhuberance and excitement. I was making coffee and grabbed the sugar bowl, took the lid off, and found a tiny ant running circles around the grains with all the speed of a squirrel on meth. I’m sure if I listened closely I would have heard him screaming, “OH YE GODS THE MOTHERLODE!” But ecstasy is brief, and I was not about to be slowed down .9 seconds from drinking my coffee. You win, Anty. But you lose, too.

I saw this video on the National Geographic channel a while back, part of an episode all about the lowly ant. That show was unreasonably interesting, and even gave me chills. So when I found this video again online (and since I’m talking about ants anyway…) I must share it. I don’t know how the scientists pulled it off, but they did. They filled the hallways and rooms of an ant hill with cement. A LOT of cement.

Ok this has nothing to do with ants...

Those of you in the area Friday night may have felt a burst of happy energy suddenly around 9:30. This was approximately when all of Portland had a simultaneous sports-gasm over the Trailblazers, specifically Nicolas Batum. He’s from France, but it’s okay, he scores 20 points a game. In the dwindling stressful moments of our game versus the San Antonio Spurs (who hold the best record in the nation), Mr. Batum brought us to a tie with two momentous free throws. He then scored the winning basket. These all-important 4 points occurred within the last .9 seconds of game time.

This is a little detail shot of my latest finished sewing project. It will be available in my Etsy shop by the end of today. There are a few other new listings, plus I’ve arranged a new selection of Sale items! Please check it out, share it with your friends. Thanks (as always) for reading, I hope the rest of your weekend is fun, or relaxing, or at least sunnier than it is here.

It’s been months since we had that Maty dog around every day, so not only do I miss “puppy time,” our house lacks a creature of boundless energy and optimism. That’s just not Matilda’s “thing.” Today I saw the only animal who rivals Maty’s exhuberance and excitement. I was making coffee and grabbed the sugar bowl, took the lid off, and found a tiny ant running circles around the grains with all the speed of a squirrel on meth. I’m sure if I listened closely I would have heard him screaming, “OH YE GODS THE MOTHERLODE!”
Leave a Reply

