My reading list includes revolutionary hispanics and fundamentalist mormons. Yup.

We had a great time at Cafe Noir. I got to see familiar faces from my days at Roberts High School (whose updated school colors are: black). We chatted with some other nice people, and even got a little live music. My stuff is there til the end of the month, stop by and leave me a message in the comment book.

I’d like to thank Margi for showing me this picture. Not just because it made me laugh, but because it was soooo true of me that I’ve since started working my way through 2 books! And one of them is even nonfiction!

I am reading 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez– for the second time. Really you just need to be prepared to read this book at least twice, on account of the sheer amount of events and people in the book (seriously, 100 years) and because there are only 5 names split between all the male characters. It is a beautiful story chronicling a family’s growth and development in a tiny town they founded, on through many years of revolutionary war.

Secondly I’m reading Under the Banner of Heaven, by John Krakauer. It details the development of the Mormon church, with special focus on fundamentalists (who even Mormons wish to disassociate from) who practice polygamy. Not the kind you can make a TV show about; the kind where 14 year old girls are forced to marry (and consummate) with grown men (who were often of family relation). The lengths that people have gone to in order to practice this God-ordained tradition are unsettling to say the least. I think of it like a long episode of Law and Order: SVU. You can’t look away because it’s lurid, and I can’t help but get angry because I’ve always had a sneaking suspicion that women should have rights to govern their own lives.

Good news! I’ve listed like a dozen items in my Etsy store. I had a photo shoot yesterday for these items, and as you can see, Matilda misunderstood my purpose in clearing the coffee table. I have added a section to my shop of items now on sale.

Next week I will be taking down my art from Cafe Noir. How sad, I know. I will then turn around and set up at Duds, a vintage clothing store in Portland. I’m also thrilled to say that I have one of my paintings included in a gallery show at 100th Monkey Studio (they’ve turned me down for their shows like 4 times, I didn’t think I’d get in!). The opening will be March 4th. Naturally I will tell you more about it as it nears.

Thanks for your patience with me and the suspicious number of days that have elapsed since my last post. That doesn’t mean I don’t think of you daily, dear readers.

3 Comments

  1. Pirategrrrl said,

    February 22, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    “Under the Banner of Heaven” is TOTALLY on my reading list. Granted, I have about 20 books to read before I get to it, but it’s TOTALLY there.

  2. Margi said,

    February 27, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    I couldn’t even make it through “100 Years…” once, and you are brave enough to take it on twice! Impressive. 😉

  3. Elision said,

    March 2, 2011 at 3:40 pm

    “I’ve always had a sneaking suspicion that women should have rights to govern their own lives.”

    : )


Leave a Reply

