I call him Gilbert Hankey, the (other) Christmas Poo

Ohhhhhhh coooookies!

I was lucky enough to attend THE cookie decorating party. It’s an annual event Darbie has been cool enough to include me in. Ideally I’d have one picture that shows all or even most of the fruits of everyone’s labor, but I don’t have a helicopter to get an aerial view. This event is Seuss-ical in proportions.

I’ve shopped in bakeries that carry fewer confections than this. Once the two dining tables were full, we moved fresh masterpieces to yet another dining table outside.

white chocolate dipped oreos

Symphonic Cookie Director Colette provided (as usual) her crew of family and friends with photo directions for many of the designs. Everyone was up to their elbows in frosting; you got a contact sugar high just being in the kitchen. Last year, I made some pretty fabulous snowflake sugar cookies. I have nailed the frosting technique for snowman noses that stick out. I’m a connoisseur of sprinkles.

Basically I think I’ve held my own in cookie-decorating-territory.

However, none of my embellished sweet things has been as memorable as my accidental masterpiece this year.

Just

let me

explain.

I sat down to picture instructions for white chocolate covered rice crispie balls (go ahead, take a moment) which we would transform with Christmas Magic into snowman heads. But I guess they ran out of white chocolate.

We tried really hard– since the black eyes won’t show up, better do the iris on top of white… black coal mouth won’t show up, so let’s do it white and figure out an explanation for that later. Mine were successively more bizarre looking. I didn’t bother to give this guy a carrot nose because he looks like he’s in so much pain already. It was really hot there with ovens running! No environment for a snowman of any color.

Luckily for me, it was a hit. My fellow decorators and I decided he’s a relative of Mr. Hankey, the Christmas Poo (as seen annually on South Park).

I hope your week is going lovely! Drive safely, and don’t let the crazy people get to you. 😉

3 Comments

  1. Melina said,

    December 22, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    He looks like a goomba mushroom!!!!

    from mario!!!!

  2. January 8, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    […] my observational learning to the test today and have created another baking masterpiece to follow my bob-omb from the cookie decorating party. I’ll tell you about it tomorrow. LikeBe the first to like this […]


Leave a Reply

