Never thought I’d write on my blog about tuxedo-wearing giraffes

I had another exciting morning with my dancing kids at Goodtime Chinese Center. Well, this picture is from last week. We enjoy incorporating big rubber balls into dance time… apparently.

But today was a departure from dance. I brought a few Shel Silverstein poems and if I say that “I read the poems to them,” it’s an understatement. Particularly during “Whatif,” which is mostly a list of questions like “Whatif I’m dumb in school? Whatif they’ve closed the swimming pool? What if I tear my pants? What if I never learn to dance?” They answered each one immediately.

He'd laugh if he could read it.

The poems were fun, but the Mad Libs were AWESOME. I wrote out a basic story and let a group of 8 little boys fill in the details. The result staggered even me. I’d like to hear your ideas for a title this story. There are just so many jokes to be made.

It was Sunday and the weather was sunny, rainy, and tornado-y. That’s Michael’s favorite kind of day. Michael and all the Goodtime kids were going on a field trip. This time they went to China. Last week they went to the Poopy Farm and no one had any fun.*

Outside the door to China was a pack of giraffes, their faces looked weird and they smelled just like stinky. One of them was wearing a tuxedo and every time he opened his mouth he said “Hello! Poop! Toilet!”**

For lunch everyone sat in the shade of a huge pineapple. William brought his favorite lunch: spicy poop noodle. Joshua and max had lunchables and pig meat, but nothing to eat. “I wish I had cheetah milk.”

After lunch, the weather became stormy and lightning-y and it was time for the Goodtime kids to leave, but the van had been crushed by a giant peanut butter and jelly sandwich!

Luckily, Yan had a trumpet in her pocket. When she used it, the kids heard an oinking sound, then a huge elehippo*** came and they rode home on it, everyone singing “Poooooop!”

*they insisted that if they had in fact gone, they would have had lots of fun.
**I asked them to give me words that they like to yell.
***Our invention, half elephant, half hippo. Duh.

I’ll be out of town this weekend, so I hope this silliness will make you giggle all weekend, because I can tell you right now I can’t read it without laughing. The boys had me read it 3 times because it was so hysterical.

Eat something delicious this weekend!

1 Comment

  1. Brittany said,

    July 24, 2010 at 7:05 am

    Dang it! Now whenever someone asks me the words I like to yell, I’m going to have to come up with something new. My top three were always “Hello!”, “Poop!” and “Toilet!” Now that a group of kids published it first, I don’t feel so special…


Leave a Reply

