And now, the game Where Were You This Time Last Year

I’m indulging myself in a little blog time that isn’t about art (there’s a project drying in the garage) or unemployment (I have an interview on Wednesday!) or cooking (I watched 4 hours of Good Eats yesterday) or gardening (there are new daylilies blooming by the deck).

At this time last year, I was too busy to worry about art and unemployment and cooking and plants. I was a bit preoccupied.

So set up the interrogation light and put on your serious voice. “Where were you on the morning of July 18th 2009?”

I was at a salon. I was writing furiously in my notebook, making last revisions of my vows while waiting for the stylist to come curl my hair and the makeup artist to give me beautiful eyelashes. I was watching Jess make furtive phone calls updating our ETA at the White House.

This time last year, I was getting married.

From all accounts, it was a pretty rockin’ good time. Since many of my readers are friends and family who were part of the shindig and the remember so well the weather, the toasts, the food, the Judge… I thought today I’d share a few things that maybe you didn’t know about the adventure of the Pip wedding. First example: the awesome lady shown here doing my hair. I showed up for my 10:00 appointment and they said  they weren’t expecting me til 10:30, so my stylist wasn’t there yet. 10:30 rolls  around and turns out he’s not coming in at all. Enter this girl to the rescue. It’s ok though, because I loved what she did with my hair. The other guy… I didn’t like it, but I didn’t have the nerve to tell him so.

I got to get all artsy craftsy with our wedding favors. Fully aware of July heat in Oregon, I ordered paper fans from a party supply store online. Then my friends and I painted them all with daisies. Each one looked different, and each one was totally necessary to survive the heat. Seems like everyone loved them (I know at least 5 people who still have the fans in their car) and I’m so glad people appreciated them because like many wedding projects, there was a bump along the way.

Little known fact: our wedding nearly took a very oriental turn. I ordered 25 each of green, orange, and yellow fans… but received 25 each green, orange, and white paper lanterns.

Peek-a-boo isn't fun with lamps.

In that picture, I’m sitting on the floor of our apartment in Salem. Most of the planning for the Portland wedding took place there. That’s because we moved to the house in Portland exactly one week before the wedding. Maneuvering around boxes would be tough enough. Trying not to trip over the cat would be tough enough (I believe her mood at the time was “Where the hell am I and how do you use these ‘stairs’ you speak of?). Our big house is designed very well for entertaining, so it made sense to order some delicious food and have the rehearsal dinner on our deck. We had to rent tables and chairs (not because they were still packed up… because we didn’t have any). I’d like to mention that we were able to continue using the plastic serving spoons and tongs that came with that dinner for nearly a year before the last of them broke.

I want to say Thank You again to these fools we hang around with.

Shane, Josh, Michael, Rob, Elyse, Emily, Melina, Margi, Darbie, Jess LJ

I count you all as family.

And as for family, Thank You for all you did in supporting us, the planning, the wedding, and your company.

My side of the family is the back row

Congratulations to the Pippels– the Johnston family upped the average height of our guests by at least 4 inches (you’re welcome, Browning women).

I’ll wrap this up with one of the best pictures from the ceremony. Our officiant was a Judge who graduated from the same school Bill attends now. More importantly, our officiant made up for how neither of us have a drunk and insane distant uncle by acting like a drunk and insane distant uncle.

You DO???

Please share your Judge Drunkypants stories in the comments section. I’ll start: Upon meeting my Maids of Honor, “Ok girls, we’ll see you downstairs in a minute. And I want to let you know that I made absolutely certain to set my phone on vibrate during the ceremony. So, if I make a funny face and fall over, I must be getting one HELL of a phone call!”

4 Comments

  1. Diane Davis said,

    July 18, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Happy Anniversary, you two. Your wedding was one of the highlights of our 2009! Love you much.

  2. Mimi Pippel said,

    July 18, 2010 at 8:52 pm

    Best wedding I have ever been to – including mine!

  3. Darbie said,

    July 18, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Happy anniversary, dear Pippels! I was so honored to be a part of that amazing day. Love you both!!

  4. Dani said,

    July 19, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Katie and Bill!

    Your wedding was a wonderful example of how two people in love can celebrate that love with family and friends. No crazy Judge stories for me–I was hopped up on wine and cake (which were both delicious, by the way).

    Thank you again for such amazing memories, and I’m so happy for you both!


Leave a Reply

