I’ll dance to many kids of music, Barbie tunes are not included.

Good morning! Isn’t that a pretty cup of espresso? It was delicious. The beans were from Hawaii– I sadly speak in past tense because those beans did not last long. How could it? Coffee flavored with coconut or macadamia nuts or caramel…. Let’s just say they didn’t collect dust on the shelf. The cup, saucer, and beans were gifts from Elyse and Matthew. The hydrangeas are from my yard of course, and they are appreciative of the delicious import coffee grounds I share with them when I’ve had my first or second cup of the day.

It’s no secret that I’m better at starting projects than at finishing them. I am nearly finished with one such project that I abandoned during the cold months. It’s a very ambitious first attempt at a glass mosaic. Here is a sneak peek, this is where I picked up yesterday. Once I clean it up this afternoon and drag it into the sun I can show it off here.

This morning I get to put on my dancy-pants and go see the kids at Goodtime Chinese Center. I’ve been adjusting my iPod playlist for my time with them, trying to put music on that they’ll like. It’s hard to anticipate though– the first week, they LOVED that I played the theme to Dora the Explorer. But last week when the opening notes started, it turned into a chorus of “NO DORA! NO DORA! NO DORA!”

So okay. No Dora. The boys requested Star Wars, so I’ve got the cantina song now. One of the girls demanded “fairytopia,” so I looked it up. It’s from a Barbie movie. It’s just not going to happen.

On the topic of kids that I like, here’s a kid that I love. Darbie, Emily, Atom and I went in to another fabulous Portland boutique. We went directly to the purses, Atom went directly to this little red wooden school desk. He pulled books from the window and was very pleased. Naturally, we all were pleased too.

High five for fans of Thomas the Tank Engine. Also for trucks and ducks. I’m off now to “teach” dance and enjoy some sunshine. I hope your week is going well, and I’ll be back on soon with pictures of art and food and all those things we all love.

1 Comment

  1. Mimi Pippel said,

    July 16, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Have you tried Raffi? I don’t know how good it is to dance to – but we always loved Raffi!


Leave a Reply

