I spent all that time learning Spanish but now I need Chinese. Dios mio…

Atom would like to say, HI! Happy 4th of July Weekend! Can I have a chocolate cracker now? I made so many silly faces at him this weekend while Darbie and Emily had their own grown-up conversations about whatever. Yes yes, the oil spill… tragic…. let’s play peek-a-boo.

I will acknowledge that I have a sort of reputation that often precedes me. I have practiced and performed Poi fire dancing for several years, which has led to many interesting moments in  my life. What’s more, I get to be an interesting moment in the life of others. Like preparing for a performance for Wulapalooza– Liz and I filled a Wal-Mart cart with cans of white gas, lighters, glow sticks, and sausages (to eat for our Sunday Brunch) and that poor cashier tried so hard to keep a straight face, to not show his alarm at this purchase that he found rather suspicious but knew was legal. But suspicious. But legal.

Gathering the hardware to make our equipment was another opportunity for oddity. I was at PetSmart buying 10 dog collars (the chain kind).

“Are you a dog breeder?” she asked.

“No, I’m a fire dancer.”

“…do you want a bag for these?”

I am happy to tell you that I have a weekly dancing gig now. Teaching dance, rather. Are you ready for one of the silliest things  I’ve ever said? I’m teaching dance to a group of elementary age Chinese kids. At the Goodtime Chinese Center.

I am not making this up.

This week I had a group of half a dozen boys, and we had a great time. They liked the music mix I made for dance time– I kicked it off right with some Yo Gabba Gabba “I Like To Dance.” They rocked out with me to songs from Madagascar, “I Like to Move It, Move It.” Luckily, we all like to move it, move it.

It's important to leave enough room between you and the spinner next to you

The shining moment of class this week was when Track 8 came up on my Goodtime Mix: Bohemian Rhapsody, as done by the Muppets. It was somewhere during a crescendo that I realized I was standing on a foam puzzle, with 5 little boys running circles around me, with Miss Piggy crooning “Nothing really matters…. nothing really matters… but… moi!!!”

I am not making this up.

It’s time to start warming the legendary Moose’s World Famous Baked Beans and finding bowls for chips, and arranging the pile of flammable things we’ll play with today. I hope you have a safe and happy weekend of the 4th!

Come back this weekend with funny stories to tell me, ok?

Leave a Reply

