And she said, Let there be flowers and fine foods

I understand that I am overdue for an entry, and I’m hoping to make up for my absence with lots of pictures. Last week I was very busy with cleaning for company, entertaining this company, doing some art business and turning 26.The weather has been glorious lately, and the yard is exploding with flowers. I’m not joking… sit underneath the back tree and close your eyes, you can hear them pop from golf ball-sized bud to a canteloupe-sized candy-smelling rhododendrons, azaleas, and peonies. I’ve never lived in a place with flowers as big as these. The neighbors comment on the irises next to the front door anytime we’re out chatting. I’m beginning to wonder if my indoor plants are getting jealous of how I fawn over the big poofy pink peonies.

In the time that I haven’t been arranging flowers I’ve completed some art, some delicious meals, and having a great time with Mimi and Dani both visiting. Having company meant of course that there had to be some serious cooking.

Above is a summary of my birthday dinner. Freshly fried tortilla chips, zucchini sticks, and calzones. It was delicious and we had great company to enjoy it, and plenty to drink.

We made another attempt at cooking artichoke, and this time was a total success. The artichokes in question were intimidating even before considering how to cook them. They were big enough to bludgeon with. They were freakishly close to skull size. Seriously. They were too big to fit in the crisper drawer of the fridge.

we couldn't cook them both in the same pot

The hearts were the size of average artichokes. They were totally delicious and comically large.

As for new work, here is my newest painting:

As far as I can tell, I think Maty likes it.

Thanks for checking my blog again even though I’ve been absent. Please pass the word around that I’m connected again with my computer. I hope your week goes well!

2 Comments

  1. Dani said,

    May 18, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I so loved this post! And not just because I was there to live it with you, but that was a large part. I heart you sweetie, and had a lovely time with you!

  2. June 28, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    […] to bud and blossom. A couple of them are very fragrant, one of them has petals the size of that enormous artichoke we cooked a while […]


Leave a Reply

