Today’s soundtrack by Rodrigo y Gabriela

Good morning! Or afternoon. Either way, this mug is big enough for a pick-you-up. This was such a pretty and delicious breakfast pair I wanted to share it and make a shout out to my fellow Bistro lovers. The weather’s nice out and the Mill Stream is calling.

I’ll answer the call of the Mill Stream some other time. My kitchen is so much closer. Plus I know I have the Buzz Bars recipe here somewhere. First there’s a mild kitchen crisis to tend to: Oh darn, I made too much macaroni and cheese. I could reheat in the microwave or the oven… or I could get crazy!

let's get crazy!

Chilled mac and cheese, cut into squares, breaded (twice) and then deep fried. It was exactly as good as it sounds. I looked at several recipes for Deep Fried Mac and Cheese Balls. I opted against Emeril’s 16-ingredient version; the other extreme was one that used Stouffer’s frozen mac and cheese, and actually insisted you fry them while frozen. In the end, I took nothing from the recipes except for the oil temperature. I didn’t even roll them into balls– that’s not to say I didn’t try. I tried once, and it proved to be an easy way to demolish a perfectly good clump of delicious. They get sort of amorphous in the fryer anyway. These were definitely a success, but I have some ideas for how to improve them next time. I need to have drier and finer bread crumbs, and to have way more leftovers because this stuff is amazing.


I’m trying something new with art. I’ve made it, sold it, gifted it, displayed it, stared at it… I’m making arrangements to donate art for the first time.  I’d like to invite my artist and writer friends to get involved as well. April 30th is an annual fundraising event for the SHARE Support Network. This will be held at the Multnomah Arts Center (about 4 minutes from my house) and I’m very happy to see an event like this in my community. Here are some more details on the event.

Aw Mom, she's just playin'.

I get lots of good feedback about this blog, it makes me really happy to hear that people read it. I did get some flack from a certain Darbie about the smack I talked about the Easter basket she so generously gave so that Emily, Matilda and I could enjoy the holiday. If I’d known you’d throw California Rolls at me I wouldn’t have said anything! Matilda still sleeps on/around it.
I’m not ungrateful, just a smart-ass. See, your boy gets it.

3 Comments

  1. Caitlin said,

    April 15, 2010 at 7:00 am

    question: there were buzz bars, which had the peanutbutter. Then there was another kind of bar…but I can’t remember what it was!!!! Do you know?

    • Katie Pippel said,

      April 15, 2010 at 3:48 pm

      Na-na-na NANAIMO BARS!
      Named for the custard in them, from Nanaimo Canada. And heavenly, right?

  2. Caitlin said,

    April 20, 2010 at 5:59 am

    ah, yes!
    and also the bars bars.


Leave a Reply

