I’m an Alaskan mountaineer by association

Our car is now officially registered in Oregon, which means these have been the last days of the Last Frontier license plates. I would like to share with you a small script.

Scene: gas station. Center stage: white sedan with Alaska license plates. Players: gas station attendant; me. Times this has happened: Many. Many.

“Hi, can I get it filled with regular?”

“Oh hey, you from Alaska?”

“No, I’m not, it’s my husband’s car.”

“I hear good things about Alaska. Good fishing. How long did it take you to drive it down?”

“Oh, I don’t know, I wasn’t with him when he did it…”

“What time of year did you go? How were the roads?”

“He went during summertime… I don’t remember how long it took him.”

“I got a buddy fishing around Kodiak.”

“I’m sorry.”

“What? I’ve been thinking about making a hunting trip up there.”

“You should go to Barrow. Very underrated.”

“How long did you say it took you to drive down?”

“Three years.”

“What?”

“What?”

“Here’s your receipt, miss. Have a good weekend!”

What will I talk about at the gas stations now???

I went to River Organics this weekend to show my work at their monthly open house. I had a great time, and thanks to you all who came. Since I have several big pieces hanging this month in Tigard, I had the opportunity to show more of my small pieces and the high quality gift cards I’ve been selling on ETSY.

All of these are available for purchase on my ETSY site, plus a little environmental art I’m offering just in time for Earth Day, April 20th.

I’ve got some more kitchen victories and stories up next. I’ll close this with a picture from River Organics this Saturday that conveys both the sense of calm from the sun-warmed windows and wall mounted fountain but just how good Michele is with tea.

I’d like to include this picture as example #165 in a list of reasons Portland is great. Specifically, why it is great for my friend whom I am very very subtly selling on moving here. Come on Birthday Buddy, tell me you don’t want to sit at this table.

Leave a Reply

