The biggest risk in getting married is death by papercuts.

It sure looks like Monday out our window– actually, looks like a Monday in September. It’s been raining since last night sometime after the Portland Trailblazers beat the Oklahoma City Thunder. Incidentally, I do not think these phenomena are related.

You may have noticed a very long and narrow photo to the left. I accomplished two things with this picture: I got to use the panorama setting on my new camera (thanks Mimi!) and got one picture of my huge stack of wedding thank you cards without just photographing them in a huge stack! Now you can see where I’ve put my time lately. Most recently, the time was spent arranging them on the floor (the only flat space big enough for all of these so far) and keeping the animals out of the room while I got the series of pictures. I had to make it up to the cat by letting her sprawl on my lap while I edited the photos together.

These cards are all 5×7 inches in size, on quality card stock. Each is a one-of-a-kind composition of gratitude, embellished with papers of different color, texture, and pattern as well as hand-written and stamped text. The envelopes and the inside of each card are accented with stamped flourish-designs for a little extra special touch. There is a lot of highly hazardous high quality papers for invitations and stuffing envelopes, I’d hate for you to get blood on your dress. Best to pay someone to do it for you.

So do you know anyone getting married? Or maybe just someone who has a great deal of gratitude they need to express? I made cards like this for my wedding and they were a huge success. At the least, people were pleasantly surprised to get a hand-made one-of-a-kind card; at the most, they were calling each other to gush and compare the cards they’d received.

If you know a nearly-wed couple who might enjoy this, please pass along this picture with my information; send them to my ETSY store, give them my  number, whatever. With custom orders like that, my prices will depend on quantity/time/budget, so please don’t be scared of these cards thinking you can’t afford it because they look like good enough I should charge $17 a piece. Even though they totally do look that good. And if you have a  wedding coming up where they might actually spend $17 a piece on thank yous, I assume you know what to do.

In other news, I’ll be taking some art to Tigard in the next couple days, so I’ll have new pictures of that display soon. I’ll also return to those 6 Things I wrote about… I enjoy leaving the mystery in the air. I hope this finds you well, and as always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

