Stay tuned tonight for “The PDX-Files”

Today I made a nice full sketch of something I’ve been mulling over lately. I made a beautiful collage for a city I’ve been to once, but not for the city in which I live. I love Portland.

You’re witnessing the very first stages, folks! A peek at the first sketch:

Sketching on graph paper made me feel like I was doodling in math class.

I have been collecting catalog and magazine pages for a Portland collage. I kept the cat off the arrangement just long enough to take this:

I have plans for several Portland icons to be included. I need to seek out a good rose magazine. Obviously.

I’m faithfully putting new work on my ETSY shop. Please check it out, share it with your friends, buy my cool stuff.

Like these envelopes-- Great to dress up the Starbucks gift card you're giving to somebody you don't know well for Christmas.

I’m also brainstorming for more tongue-in-cheek travel posters. “Idaho, Now With Electricity,” or “Get the Hell Out Of Alaska, They Have Bears.” I’d love to hear if you’ve got jokes about your city or state.

I hope your weekend is going well. It felt like spring here today. I’m going to keep myself busy tomorrow so I don’t think about how jealous I am about my friends going to see Avenue Q performed in Eugene. Very jealous. But it turns out there’s not a lot of money in art right now (ha!) so I guess I’ll wait til I get a big art show in New York and I’ll go take in the show on Broadway. So there, Jessi. 😛

2 Comments

  1. July 5, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    […] texture, and I packed that envelope to its breaking point. Then I got a few key glossy magazines, put them with my PDX file. It was when I put a thick book on top of it all that I stood back and remembered, my name is not […]

  2. July 5, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    […] texture, and I packed that envelope to its breaking point. Then I got a few key glossy magazines, put them with my PDX file. It was when I put a thick book on top of it all that I stood back and remembered, my name is not […]


Leave a Reply

