I finally got to be in a high school talent show (and all I had to do was get a job at one)

Another tale of adventure from my days at RHS.

”]One part of the end-of-school-year-fun was the first Student and Staff Talent Show. I already knew that the staff I had the good fortune to work with were talented people. Talented, creative, very very very hard working people. Turns out they’re musicians and singers and artists as well.

I had to finally make good on my talk about fire dancing. My students didn’t believe I could dance. I got to bust out my just-acquired flashing LED poi and to jerry-rig my double staves to glow. Only a few of the students had seen this before– a few weeks prior I got the Willamette Poi Club to come give a little performance demo.

Great fun was had by all.

Naturally it’s a lot more fun with ‘the real stuff.’ So here’s a recent-ish video.

Thanks again to Lorenzo for his hard work on this.

The last day of school was the triumphant day I got to announce that Matilda had made it home. Speaking of which, her fame is spreading further– to cat lovers all over Salem. From Salem Friends of Felines “Mewsletter:”

this is a volunteer operation-- please support them

Did I mention Matilda is a licker? Licks like a puppy, it’s so silly.I hope the weather is nice where you are (and if it is, stop hogging it and send it over here!)

2 Comments

  1. megan foulke said,

    January 21, 2010 at 2:34 am

    our cat cheetah is a licker too. we fostered a kitten recently so he was able to put his licking to good use by bathing the kitten, instead of us.

  2. January 21, 2010 at 2:49 am

    Yayy! Spread the love of poi everywhere! 🙂


Leave a Reply

