Last weekend’s River Organics

K and Jessi

A good snapshot I think. Thanks for coming from Eugene!

I loved the pictures Emily took of the show. A lot of my friends made it out there and I was very happy.

So was she:

RO November9

LOVES TO DANCE

RO November2

Cards!

RO November6

Sure, I'll call it an artist statement. 😛

RO November3

My new sparkly shoes, very eye-catching. And baby-catching.

I got some very cute shoes a couple weeks ago from the Goodwill downtown in Portland. You know, where they have all sorts of designer stuff.  They have very sparkly and reflective gems all over the toes, which was both interesting and conveniently floor level for the afternoon’s sweetheart as she danced and pointed at peoples’ noses. She is not the first to be fascinated by these shoes. I guess I would have been the first. But the second was my ever-curious cat Matilda. I found her stalking around the pile of shoes by our front door, I assumed she was following a bug, but I watched her for a couple minutes and realized she was sneaking up on my shoes. The sparkles totally freak her out. When I wear them, she gets jumpy if I twitch my foot or walk around. I’m not joking you guys— my cat is afraid of my shoes. Add that to the others on the list of her fears: vacuums, snow, her cat box, hairdryers, sneezes, and kittens. I couldn’t make this up.

RO November

Ta daah!

When I look at this picture I can’t help but have visions of the pictures through my school years of me standing just like this next to a table with some tri-fold setup with my project about the great state of Minnesota or illustrations of mitosis or some speach about Abraham Lincoln. You know you have those too.

I was especially happy to show two pieces. This summer I painted an Alaska “travel” poster for Rob. I’ve had the intention of doing similar paintings for other states.  I have a few ideas that I want to make into series-es but I guess sometimes I don’t have the attention span for it.

RO November7

Alaska Travel Postcard

But I have made good on my plans and have completed a second travel poster, you could call it near and dear to my heart.

RO November1

Idaho Travel Poster

RO November4

I thought they went together nicely.

I know I’ve posted this one already, but whatever, it’s my blog. 🙂 I got a really great “Rudy’s Mocha” at the Goldrush Coffee Bar near River Organics. I’d like to say also that “Bryan’s Bagel” is delicious too. And they have a picture from ye olde goldrush days of the street and the building the cafe’s in.

Thanks to everyone who came. I’ll post some pictures of the new pieces soon.

1 Comment

  1. Matt Melton said,

    November 27, 2009 at 6:28 am

    That “Get the Hell Out Of Alaska” poster is probably one of the funnier things I’ve seen in a while. Glad you are still being you, indispensibly so.


Leave a Reply

