Officially Autumn, and whatnot.

It’s November! It totally snuck up on me. It often does. I get all excited about Halloween, not what comes after it. And anyway, November isn’t November anymore. It’s Christmas.

Luckily, it isn’t a white winter–yet. I am still overwhelmed by how brightly colorful fall is here. A little like this:

The Sky Is A Hazy Shade of Winter

This weekend I got to take over a display case at the Tigard Public Library. Right there in the lobby. And I’m happy to say it’s the busiest library I’ve seen. I got there 15 minutes after opening the other morning and the parking lot was more than half full. Good work, Tigard.

Right there in the lobby!

I'm a little proud of this.

Emily came with me to set up– very valuable in trying to lay these things out. I would have had to make at least twice as many awkward trips around the case to put something in, run to the front and see how it looks, go back and walk directly into the glass doors, rinse, repeat.

we added depth by putting rocks under the pictures too. shhh

we added depth by putting rocks under the pictures too. shhh

carefully arranged

carefully arranged

We heard some fun positive comments from people passing by, and that was encouraging. Emily took lots of pictures of the display because people paid more attention to it when they saw her there. We wish this kid didn’t move so fast though:

Davey Crocket sighting

His brother had the same hat!

Ta dahh

Ta dahh

Emily was making a similarly accomplished pose behind the camera.

nano badge

The other thing about it being November is that it’s time for another round of National Novel Writing Month (abbreviated NaNoWriMo).  It is a ludicrous challenge that more and more people are undertaking to write a novel during the month of November. Calm down, not a GOOD novel, just 50,000 words. This is my third year participating and I’m very excited because more of my friends are doing it than ever. So for the next few weeks let’s be extra proud of me for doing blog posts while also writing a novel. I’ll try to keep them separate. Art stuff, here. An already bizarre story  about Russian gypsies, there in my NaNo file.

And as a head’s up– I have a show at River Organics again this month (Second Saturday) and last week I booked Da Vinci’s Ristaurante in McMinnville for the month of December AND the Tin Shed cafe in Alberta for the month of May. I have something to write in my 2010 planner!

Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

